New Student (entering mid-year)

<p>I just started at UA for the Spring 2013 semester. I graduated from high school in May 2012, but deferred a semester to pursue an opportunity abroad.</p>

<p>I’ve been having a lot of trouble meeting people and just feeling at all connected to the campus. Since I’m not a true “transfer” I’m not sure what to expect – how long it’ll take, etc?</p>

<p>I’ve reached out to a few student groups that I’m interested in by email, asking when meetings are, etc (without response) and am filling out a COB form to drop in the greek office since I’m interested in pledging a sorority (though I don’t have any hope since I know absolutely no one). </p>

<p>Any tips for an out-of-state student who knows all of two people, doesn’t really “click” with her roommates (they’re nice, but we have absolutely nothing in common)? </p>

<p>Advice that is UA specific would be oh so appreciated!</p>

<p>try to make friends with other people in your dorms and classes. go to some parties, they are a great way to meet people. intiate conversation with people and see if you have anything in common.</p>

<p>It is harder to start in the Spring because Spring admits miss all the Week of Welcome icebreakers.</p>

<p>I don’t know if Spring has a “Get on Board Day” or not. If not, that’s another issue. </p>

<p>Are you in a dorm? Do you have roommates? What is your major?</p>

<p>Are you interested in any intramurals or activities at the Rec Center? </p>

<p>What do you like to do?</p>

<p>First - relax. You just started classes!
Next - look around. Smile! Keep a smile on your face and look friendly. Ask for help - for directions, for the best laundry areas, for anything. Students love to help other students.