New York City students at Geneseo

<p>Hi, my daughter is considering attending SUNY Geneseo next year. We live in Manhattan. Woud love to hear from any current or prospective NYC students (or their parents) since the prevailing advice seems to be that it might not be the best fit as most Geneseo students are from upstate, and the change to a small upstate town could be too much culture shock. Having said that, although she's grown up in NYC, she doesn't seem to mind the idea of being in a small town environment. But maybe that could grow old? </p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>While Geneseo has extra perks for those upstate, there are many from the NY City area at Geneseo and love it. Surely it is not so busy as, well, any of NYC’s communities, but depending on your daughter’s interests, she may love it. It is a nice community for sure… bucolic, a tad cold, very safe, few distractions outside of school…</p>

<p>I’m a prospective NYC student (lived here all my life) and I’m a little worried about the transition as well.
First thing is to go and visit - there’s plenty of people who live in urban environments, say they wouldn’t mind a rural environment and then go crazy when they actually live there.
I personally see something like Geneseo’s weather an improvement from NYC’s (This might be an issue for others, though)</p>

<p>It really depends on your daughter. If she stays indoors a lot, the transition might go very smoothly. However, if she takes advantage of NYC’s opportunities often, it might not go that smoothly.</p>

<p>A lot of college students just stay on campus year round (even in cities), so they’re basically living in their own “small town”.</p>

<p>I personally don’t think the transition would be that bad, but of course you’ve got to get used to not having everything at your fingertips anymore.</p>

<p>Thanks bioblade and worldspirt for your feedbac. Bioblade, do you know many other NYC students at your school or elsewhere who are seriously considering Geneseo? </p>