Number and Type of ECs best for UCs?

I’m currently working on my UC activities list, and am unsure of what type of extra curricular UCs want. For example, would “coding club mentor” be something interesting enough for admission officers? Also, what would be a good range of the number of UC activities I submit? I currently have ten, but could possible add more. And is it ok that I won’t be submitting any volunteer/community service? Thanks!

Hello fellow applicant. I’ll just tell you a bit of what I heard (mostly general advice for ECs) and what I am doing in my application. For context I am planning on going into Pure Mathematics.

I have a general theme for my ECs. I started a STEM Club at my Community College, I represent STEM in my Community College’s Student Government, and I am a volunteer Math tutor at my Community College.

Sure it’s only three ECs (only for my 12th grade year, I listed others for 9th-11th) but:

1. They align with my planned Major almost perfectly.
  2. I've taken leadership roles in every activity, and subsequently
  3. I dedicated mass amounts of time to these specific activities.

Other things I put was I did Private tutoring (again in Math) from 9th Grade Summer through 11th Grade and also put that I sat in the Linear Algebra class the entire semester, taking all the quizzes and exams (although I wasn’t in the class the professor was nice enough to grade everything and help me in office hours) under Other Coursework.

This means I had 2 ECs, 1 Community Service, 1 Work Experience, and 1 Other Coursework. So I had a spread of everything, and each item shows my deep interest in Math.

Some people will say to take tons of ECs in each area to seem well-rounded, yet I’ve also heard the opposite that colleges don’t want a well-rounded student, they want a well-rounded class.