NYU Tisch vs BU for BFA

Hi everyone,
I’m an international student (living in Dubai) who wants to pursue screen acting as a career. I just got off the waitlist for NYU Tisch and found out I got accepted!! Now I’m deciding between NYU Tisch for BFA Acting and Boston University for BFA Theatre Arts/Acting. I do want to ultimately end up acting for screen so I’m trying to decide what will have the best program for me. BU has a smaller acceptance class of 35 but NYU has 200+ and I also do want to get as much 1-on-1 attention as possible. Obviously being international I’m not really sure which is best so if you have any advice, please please please do reply!!!
Thank you!!

1 Like

Paging @soozievt

Wow, congratulations! Two excellent choices. I would go with NYU, because they are famous for film school - and guess what, film students need actors. Plus it’s NYC vs Boston. Acting, and screen acting, are such long shots that I wouldn’t say that you should go to a smaller program in the hopes of being a big fish in a small pond.

Congrats on acceptance to both excellent programs! When you talk about size of those in the program…please understand that this does NOT affect individualized attention. At NYU, you will be placed in a studio and within your studio, you will be in classes of approximately 15 students, no different than smaller programs. There are more faculty! Both programs are excellent. If you are interested in screen acting, at NYU, you can opt to do advanced studio for your junior or senior years in Stonetreet studio, which is specifically for acting for the screen. Not sure if BU has this level of focus offered in screen acting. As already mentioned by others, NYU/Tisch has a top notch BFA program in film and so the opportunities to be in student films are great. Put the programs side by side to compare their offerings. See if you can talk to current students in each program too.