NYU vs other NYC colleges for graduate school in English Education

Hello! I am a recent college graduate and over the past few months, have been applying to graduate programs for a Masters in English Education. I am still waiting on a few more decisions, but I recently achieved my first acceptance into NYU! I am super thrilled about this, of course, but since I am financing my education completely on my own, am anxiously awaiting financial aid. I know they are quite stringent with giving money, but I am trying not to be stressed or worried until I actually receive the package. With the exception of one of the schools (Penn), I applied exclusively to NYC schools (Teachers’ College at Columbia, Fordham GSE, etc) - and I wanted to hear about if anyone had experience with these or even better, at NYU for English Education. My program title is an MAT in English Education with a focus in Transformational Teaching Grades 5-12. NYU is also saying that I will need to take a few more core courses to satisfy NYS teaching requirements since I only had an English minor. Is a teaching degree from NYU worth the extra money? How does it compare to the other schools I mentioned? Also, I will be commuting from New Jersey, at least for that first year, and while I am very interested in a NY certification, being able to teach in NJ in the future is a goal of mine. Any advice or insight would help! Thank you! For context, I am really interested in a variety of writing and reading courses, as well as possible research!

1 Like

Also! I wanted to apply to NJ schools but it does not look like many of them (other than Rutgers and Montclair) have Secondary English at the graduate level and they also require the GRE.

Would also love to hear about program length, rigor, student teaching experiences, etc.