Off campus housing

<p>Any recommendations for affordable off campus housing? Also, does anyone know what the chances are of getting housing as a sophomore. My son is telling me he might not get on campus housing so he has been looking into moving off campus with some other students he knows.</p>

<p>Younger son is moving to The Retreat next year. It’s unbelievably nice…and on the Crimson Ride. </p>

<p>It’s not cheap, but it’s less than honors housing.</p>

<p>Have you looked at the off-campus housing link in Bama Housing?</p>

<p>what are the chances of NOT getting housing as a sophomore? is this really an issue?</p>

<p>^^^^</p>

<p>I really don’t know. My kids have always gotten housing.</p>

<p>I don’t think it’s an issue. Most students who don’t have housing scholarships move off-campus as soon as they have the chance.</p>

<p>I wouldn’t worry about getting housing as a sophomore, I didn’t have any trouble getting housing this year. I’m more worried about trying to move to the Bluffs by myself next semester. It becomes more of an issue when you get picky about where you want to live and with whom you want to live.</p>

<p>thanks for the replies -
worrying about if my DS can get housing as a soph. was NOT in my plans!</p>

<p>I think not getting housing is a merely a consequence of not being timely about renewing your contract. As long as you keep on top of things, you should be fine.</p>

<p>^^^</p>

<p>I agree. always renew ASAP. Always do each step ASAP.</p>

<p>My son has a housing scholarship, but two of his suite mates do not. No one seems too worried about it for next year.</p>

<p>I think it would be a good idea for the current Bama students to ask around (maybe paste the Q on Facebook) to find out which off-campus apts are preferred.</p>

<p>Then we could have a list here on CC. :)</p>

<p>For those without housing scholarships, living off campus is typically cheaper than living in honors housing.</p>