On #therealuw

So I checked out twitter last night, and found out that apparently UW has some serious racial problems? I am an Asian female muslim acepted to College of Engineering, and I’m seriously wondering whether it will be worth it to pursue my studies in this kind of environment. Madison was my first choice before coming across this hashtag. Perhaps other internationals or Wisconsin students/parents have a say on this?

Since I am a prospective student I can’t say I know. Your question may be better answered on the UWMadison reddit forum, there tends to be more students that are currently enrolled answering questions.

I’ve come across those tweets as well, and I’m concerned about the lack of diversity . Madison was my first choice too, but now I’m just confused.

Suggestion- check with the Muslim students UW organization for their experiences. They will have first hand experiences and should be willing to tell you realities. Plus you likely will want to join them.

Racial and ethnic diversity will be affected by the state’s population as this is a public U. Many students will come from hometowns and learn a lot about the rest of the world.

Madison WI and UW Madison are extremely TOLERANT. You can google it yourself. It is by far one of the most LIBERAL cities in the entire United States. I’m in state parent and read the news constantly. Have heard nothing about racism of any kind in Madison…quite the opposite (but have heard that about other UW system schools.) Ask around in established UW social/ethnic based groups before believing. Your concern might be valid based on some new events I am unaware of, but don’t count out a good school based without checking further. Admittedly OTHER areas of the state ARE very segregated and you might encounter racism.