Ph.D. for data science or applied math (preferably in east coast)

I am planning to apply for (NYU, Columbia, Princeton…)
Which top grad programs would I be a strong candidate given a quick summary below?

"I recently graduated from Stony Brook Uni with Applied Math&Statistics (AMS) and Information Systems (ISE) majors. Overall GPA 3.64, AMS GPA 3.59, ISE GPA 3.79.

I acted as the president of Golf Club and had assistantships in two departments as well as being an active member on integrated research project about climate change.

I had some internship/work experiences, mainly investment analyst intern in wall st and ops analyst intern in San Diego. I have been teaching Python in CUNY since start of summer and got extended offer at least until December.

I am currently a Masters student in Stony Brook for AMS but I want to put it away soon and work on Ph.D. instead. If any other info could help, I can share."

For doctoral programs you pick the person, not the school. Only you know who is doing research in the area(s) that interest(s) you. Look at the literature. Reverse engineer where they work. Reach out to them. Good luck.

1 Like

Admission to PhD programs is all about research fit. Selecting programs to apply to is not strictly about rankings. You need to first identify programs where there are active researchers currently conducting research in the area you want to pursue and where you have relevant research experience. Most importantly you also need to ensure that any researcher you would potentially wish to work with will actually be accepting new students for the upcoming cycle. There’s no point in applying to programs where you are not a fit for the research being conducted or where the researchers who are active in that area are not going to be taking on new students.