Phys 218

So I am a freshman about to start classes at A&M in the fall and I signed up for classes about a month ago. I’m the first in my family to go to such a big university and being such, I was really lost when signing up for classes. I got the one’s I wanted but I got William Bassichis for Physics 218. I Don’t know anything about him except for the negative reviews he has on ratemyprof. Can someone tell me how good of a professor he is? If he’s helpful in his office hours? Also, what textbook does he require? I see that on the Howdy Textbook portal it says his book is required, but I heard that University Physics is a lot better and has more practice problems. Should I buy his book? Is it any good?

Thanks

My son had Don’t Panic Physics with Tatiana Erukhimova, He really liked the more conceptual approach and though that Dr. Eruknimova was a great teacher.

Did you know if he had a lot of practice problems with the text? Or if there was like an online site, like MasteringPhysics?

@FenderFan54 I don’t know what was in the text. I do know that he would work through ten or so old TAMU exams for each of his tests.

I had a University Physics class. There were group quizzes with each lab day. Lectures had clicker questions. Class is made to weed out people. There were 300+ students in my class and by the end of the semester there was only about 140 of us.

Just brace yourself. Physics is a weed-out course and the tests are extremely hard. Almost all of the professors curve their end grades, but your first low test score will shock you. My son aced AP physics in High School and scored a 5 on his AP exam. He about flipped after his first 218 test. He scored a 48 on the second test after studying for hours. Watch the class average. If you stay ahead you will be okay. My son ended up with an A in the class, but his test scores ranged from 48 to 85.