White female, Massachusetts, large urban public school

Intended Major(s)
Mech E

GPA, Rank, and Test Scores
GPA 94/100 uw
SAT 1450

Coursework
APs: US Gov (4), Environmental sci
No calc, unless I make a last-minute schedule change (that would have to involve dropping AP environmental science); 3 years of foreign lang
I’m a vo-tech student (Automotive) but most of my other classes are honors (it’s a comprehensive school, not a dedicated vocational hs.)

Extracurriculars
Two varsity sports, two jobs, some volunteering

Cost Constraints / Budget
EFC 14k, but my family’s financials vary a lot every year. Actual amount we can afford is more like 10k plus whatever I can personally contribute/take out reasonable loans for.

Schools
EA:

• Safeties: umass dartmouth, umass lowell
  • Likely/target: umass amherst (do I have a shot at merit aid? going by the NPC, I can’t afford it otherwise)
  • Reach: northeastern

Potential RD, haven’t applied yet:

• Reaches: carnegie mellon, syracuse, maybe johns hopkins, maybe UVA

What’s the highest level of math you’ve reached and have you taken physics?

Are your safeties affordable?

Did you run the NPC for Northeastern, CMU, Syracuse, JHU or UVA? If they aren’t in budget, I wouldn’t bother applying.

Have you run the NPC for RPI or Clarkson? You’d see merit at both schools so potentially with need based aid too, they could come in to budget…maybe. Clarkson stacks scholarships too.

2 Likes

My understanding is UMass Amherst doesn’t give merit aid to in-state students. (There is some merit aid for a small number of in-state students but it is on the order of $1K or $2K.)

Did you run the NPC at Lowell? Your stats are similar to my son’s and the NPC indicated he might be eligible for significant merit scholarship there. Haven’t received decisions yet, so I can’t confirm.