Please evaluate my profile for Ph.D. admission and give me honest feedbacks

I am an Indian Btech Aeronautical undergraduate and wish to pursue Direct Ph. D. in the states. Please evaluate my profile and reply with honest feedbacks :pray:

CGPA :7.25 out of 10 ( Private Uni)

Internship experience :total of 4 relevant core Internships combined of 14 months.Notable ones are as follows: one month Internship in HAL, Eight month research at IIST

Work experience: One year research assistanship at IIT Bombay in Aerospace Department on a sponsored project

Papers published : Total 6 conference papers (4 in International notable forum, 2 in national forums) . Working on the manuscripts for Journal publications.

GRE : V=145, Q= 154, AWA =3 (Most Unis have removed the GRE requirement)

IELTS: 7.0

Recommendations : Profs from IITB, IIST and my Uni ready to give me recommendations.

Desired colleges : UMich Ann Arbor, UIUC (rejected), GeorgiaTech ( rejected) , ERAU, Caltech, UWashington, Purdue, UCB, Penn state etc

Please give me honest feedbacks to my profile. Suggest any good colleges in the US suitable for my profile according to you. Any further suggestions are invited

Not well versed in US university PhD admissions, but my understanding is that funded positions go to those applicants with research interests that match those of a particular professor at that specific university.

Your GRE scores seem low.

How did you pick the colleges that you applied to? Generally, a student will have a specific research interest and identify schools and professors that match that interest. How can anyone suggest schools to you when we don’t know what you are looking for? If you don’t have a clear interest that matches research the school is doing, that could be why you have been rejected. Graduate admissions are very different from undergrad.

3 Likes