Please HELP. In such a dire situation :(

Hello, people

I’m currently a sophomore at a university in MO and I live in CA. I recently came to a realization that the premed curriculum is not for me (both by school telling me I’m not really a good student with a good GPA and by my favorite academic field being other than health related fields) and I plan to go back to my state to start my new university life as I chose this current school because of the fabulous but **** BS/MD program. Besides, my family moved to CA two months ago so I have no other choice than leaving my school and helping my family out since I’m the only one who speaks English and understands American life.

Anyway, I decided to switch my major into Electrical Engineering and it seems to be really hard to make such a change within my campus due to the aforementioned situation. My university is a horrible in other fields than theology and premed stuffs.

I’d like to ask a question: Would it be better for me to reapply for the college admission for the fresh start? to attend a CC for a year? I know that the latter would be an easier choice instead but as I said I totally want to change my field of study drastically and as far as I know UC engineering very hardly accepts transfers, unless I was formerly majoring engineering.

I hope good answers :slight_smile:

If you are already taking college classes, you cannot start as a Freshman, you will be considered a transfer. For the UC’s, you need 60 semester units or 90 quarter units to apply as a Transfer, usually at Junior level. Your best bet, would be to attend a CA CC and use TAG (Transfer Guarantee) program for the UC’s. See link: http://admission.universityofcalifornia.edu/transfer/guarantee/

The earliest you could apply would be Fall 2016 next year.