Please help me! Lots of questions from a perspective student!

<p>I'm really starting to think that the U may be the school for me..</p>

<p>It's small (great teacher student ratio), nice campus, good football team, good social life, and good academics.</p>

<p>I was just wondering if it is preppy like a southern private or is it full of guidos and SoCal types?</p>

<p>also, are you guys glad you came here? and what are some comparable schools in your opinon?</p>

<p>Thanks so much</p>

<p>hey i was looking at ivies/other top 25 schools and i came to UM b/c of scholarship among other things (awesome combination of things). im only a freshman but here are my first impressions</p>

<p>Academics are amazing. classes are pretty difficult yet atmosphere is not cut throat one bit.
social life is good in the sense that it’s diverse. you can spend the big bucks in south beach, go to the grove, see movie/bowling like 2 min from campus, lots of stuff going on campus, frat parties, house parties. a good mix. </p>

<p>there are a lot of ppl from long island/jersey that go to the clubs and such. but definitely not as much a party school as i thought it would be. everyone is serious about academics here.</p>

<p>also football is not as big as you’d think. im a huge fan but there are a good amount of kids who never go to the games. stadium is too far from campus</p>

<p>overall i love the school academically. im rushing a frat next semester and will see how that goes. great teachers/programs.
student body is EXTREMELY DIVERSE. kids from everywhere you can imagine and all really cool i’ve found.
amazing weather, lots of stuff going on campus/off campus.</p>

<p>comparable schools…duke, BC, maybe vandy?, im not too sure. UM is really different from most schools. message me for more questions!</p>