Posting a Chances Thread? Click Here First

<p>Far be it for me to attempt to staunch a long, confusing CC tradition, but hopefully by putting some actual information out there the forum won't be (as) plagued by highschool seniors asking other highschool seniors whether or not they'll get into a college. I am in no way affiliated with Virginia Tech admissions. I'm just a recent engineering graduate and these are my opinions, although all numbers are from the VT undergraduate admissions website: Freshman</a> Snapshot | Undergraduate Admissions | Virginia Tech . If I say anything you don't think is right then by all means post, I'd rather have accurate information out there than have people think I'm right.</p>

<p>GPA: Average High School GPA: 3.96
Middle 50% GPA: 3.71–4.17
</p>

<p>What does this mean? If you have above a 4.17 (weighted, on a 5.0 max scale) then your GPA is extremely unlikely to prevent you from an offer of admission and will likely work in your favor to balance out a lowish SAT/ACT. If it is between the two then your GPA is fairly well in line with VT and will probably neither help nor hurt you. If your GPA is below 3.71 you may need some other aspect of your application to shine (SAT, a hook, etc.) And of course someone with a 3.65 isn't going to need as much help as someone with a 3.45 would.</p>

<p>Average SAT Reasoning Test score (critical reading + math): 1,250
Middle 50% SAT Reasoning Test score: 1,160–1,340
</p>

<p>What does this mean? Basically the same as above. Anything over a 1340 will help balance out another lacking part of your application (to an extent,) while anything below an 1160 may need some balancing to get you in. </p>