Problems with IB - sciences are a joke

<p>I'm sorry, I'm an IB student and I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in the program, but there are times when I just want to vent. This applies to my school's magnet IB program, at least, and by performances it's far above the national/international standard.</p>

<p>IB science classes are a joke measured with their AP counterparts. Case in point: As my teacher let slip one day, IB physics isn't even a real physics class - it's a collection of random, oversimplified formulas and, most ridiculously, doesn't even involve calculus. Only a few people in my class were able to successfully take the AP physics C exams because they were orders of magnitude more complex than the algebra based "physics" we did there. And I fear colleges may recognize that. Similar things go, I've heard, with IB chem, bio and especially environmental sciences (lol?). </p>

<p>The program's academic shortfalls don't end there. The IB languages, or at least from my experience the Spanish SL, are massively simpler than the AP's and even the HL's are piddly compared to the fluency exams that you actually care to prepare for in the same year. IB English is known to be one of our strong points but we apparently have commentary formats and assignments that nobody outside of IB has ever heard of, and I don't see how that's supposed to help us at all. "Theory of Knowledge" sounds like an interesting class, but from my experience with various teachers its curriculum is entirely arbitrary and idiosyncratic, and it's all style and pandering, no real substance.</p>

<p>IB HL math seems impressive in that it actually does something not covered in the AP's - IB "math studies", on the other hand, is just a sorry joke. But the primary problem with these courses is that you are often forced to take them to get your diploma in place of taking far more rigorous and legitimate courses. And that's just ridiculous. </p>