Process for Rushing as a Freshman

<p>Hello! I am a admitted student and I have some questions about the rushing process for sororities. </p>

<p>1) Is it allowed?</p>

<p>2) How would I go about doing it if I were to commit to Alabama?</p>

<p>3) How competitive is the process? Hazing? Any deaths from hazing?</p>

<p>4) How does rushing work in general for any school? My knowledge of the whole process is really limited. </p>

<p>Sorority Recruitment is held the week before Move-In, although you will be able to move in early if you participate in Recruitment! Convocation is going to be August 7th and Bid Day will be August 15. Freshman are generally the majority during recruitment, but upperclassmen will rush as well. Registration will probably be around the end of April or beginning of May, where you will pay the recruitment fee and put in all of your information. In 2013, there was a 90% placement rate for girls that started recruitment. (Meaning that 90% of the girls that registered got bids on Bid Day.) UA has a strict no-hazing policy, so that shouldn’t be a worry of yours! Formal recruitment (held usually in the fall for more southern schools and usually in the spring for Northern schools) is divided into different rounds where both the houses and the PNM (potential new member) narrow down their selections. At UA, the rounds are Open House, Philanthropy, Skit and Preference. You will visit a maximum of 16, 12, 8, and 3 houses respectively. I strongly recommend rushing, as my DD loves her sorority and it really shrunk down Alabama’s campus for her. </p>