Purdue Enigineering

Hi, I was accepted EA into Purdue’s school of engineering. If anyone would like to share their experiences with Purdue engineering, why its so great, or anything at all it would be greatly appreciated. I am just trying to decide where I want to go to school.

I would appreciate any feedback especially compared to other Big Ten schools specifically for chemical engineering?
Thanks!

@VerlisB: You might also consider posting this query/thread in the “Engineering Majors” forum, http://talk.qa.collegeconfidential.com/engineering-majors/, or in the “College Search and Selection”, forum, http://talk.qa.collegeconfidential.com/college-search-selection/. I suspect that you will reach a broad audience in either (or both) of those forums; perhaps title the thread along the lines of “Thoughts on Chemical Engineering in Big 10 Schools?” and then pose your question about school comparisons.

Thank you @gandalf78 - I am still learning how to use this forum and you are so helpful!

My D is a super senior Chem E at Purdue. Here are a couple of thoughts I have. Purdue feels very much like a STEM school. Compared to other B1G schools engineering is part of it’s pride and it’s identity. The engineering campus is the middle of campus at Purdue. A large percentage of Purdue students are either engineering majors or other STEM majors. At other universities engineering can seem a smaller part of the overall university and are often separated from the main campus. This is not good or bad and doesn’t say a thing about the quality of the programs but it is something you notice.

You are accepted into First Year Engineering and not into a specific major. Chem E has been an impacted major meaning there are a limited number of slots available so they can be competitive. It is a program that works for them and I don’t believe it’s either superior or inferior to other engineering paths.