Purdue for a BS in Economics

Hello. I’m a HS student, and I was wondering how the Krannert Econ program is. I know Purdue is good for STEM, but some have said that its weak for Econ/Mgmt, etc. Is it really that bad? I’m willing to go to grad school to get an econ job, and the reason I’m considering Krannert is that it’s public and one of the very few AACSB accredited undergrad econ programs in the country. THX!

Kelley School at IU is typically considered the stronger program in Indiana. I believe their econ program is also AACSB accredited. (As much as it pains me to say that as a Purdue parent ; )).

They don’t have Economics. They have Economic Consulting; nevertheless, which one is better for jobs and salary? I don’t hear that Kelley grads get better jobs than Krannert grads.

Also, Times Higher Education ranks Purdue Economics 50th in the world, while IUB is unranked.

What are your career goals with regard to economics? Looks like at Purdue you can get an BS in Econ from Krannert or a BA in Econ from CLA…not sure if there are differences in outcomes, career services, etc. but there will likely be differences in gen ed requirements, maybe even major requirements.

At IU Kelley, there is no econ major, just economic consulting (which is not econ). There is an economics major in the college of arts and sciences.

Not sure I would worry too much about AACSB accreditation but perhaps I am missing something…why has that surfaced as important to you? I expect not many econ programs are AACSB accredited because most econ departments/majors are not in colleges of business (it tends to be in the liberal arts college as you see at IU).

I thought that an AACSB accredited Econ major would help me get jobs better. Also, is a BS or BA in Econ better for jobs?

I don’t think that getting a econ degree from an AACSB accredited program will result in better outcomes…what type of job do you see yourself in after getting an econ degree?