Purdue Polytechnic Degree

I am a student in high school planning on attending Purdue University. I have been selected for Purdue’s Computer and Information technology program (CIT) which is under their polytechnic school.

I wanted to know if this degree would be valued in the next 4-6 years. Would it be better of to go undecided at a school like Penn State?

If anyone could answer this that would be great. Thank you in advance!

No one can answer your question with so little information.

• What do you want to study in college?
  • What post-graduation goals do you have, and how do they relate to college majors?
  • How much do costs differ, and how much does the difference matter?

I want to study something in the computer field. I am happy with the program I got selected for however I do not know (nor do my parents know) how good the specific program would be down the line and how significant it would be. Basically the question is would it be worth studying this specific area, or would it be obsolete in the next couple of years plus would it also pay well in the next couple of years…

My goal is just to get a well paying job out of school and I do not know if this major would do that for me.

Cost wise, Purdue is cheaper than Penn State but I do not know the specifics.

Purdue CIT is aimed at those wanting to go into IT (i.e. managing computers and their software, not designing and developing them), as hinted by the degree requirements:

Is that your career goal?

If you go to Penn State, what major would you try to get into?

These are the things I am interested in for now. I like what this program offers I just do not know if it will be significant in the near future.

I do not have any real career goals yet I am 18 but I guess it would just to have a stable job after college.

@momofboiler1 has a kid who is a senior in Engineering at Purdue.

I think it’s a fine program if it meets your need.