Purdue Questions - Honors College, Scholarships

I am currently finishing up my application to Purdue and I am looking at joining their Honors College. It looks like a really interesting program with much better dorms, but I still have a few questions about it before I apply for it.

1. What benefits does the Honors College have (Besides the nicer, newer dorms)?
  2. What is the Beering Scholarship and do all enrolled Honors College students receive it?

I am planning to major in Computer Engineering and I don’t think I will have an issue getting in to the computer engineering program, but I was wondering how selective the Honors College is. I have an unweighted 3.7 and a weighted 3.9 GPA (4.1 after my senior year) and a 34 ACT (35 superscored - 36E/33M/34R/35S), so would I be competitive to join the Honors College or what do they look for?

With my test scores and GPA, what types of scholarships would Purdue offer me since I am an out of state student?

For #1 , you register for classes around 2-3 weeks before other people do. The dorms are a bit more pricey and you are not guaranteed to stay in the new honor dorms. The location is pretty good though, but Owen or Cary would be better for an engineering.

I wouldn’t count on the dorms as a factor as many Honors kids had to be placed at Shreve this year. My OOS son had similar GPA and 33 ACT and got nothing in scholarships and was not invited to join Honors, which absolutely kills him now that he has met many of the Honors students and finds he has to help them with their homework! YMMV