Purdue vs. KU

<p>Hello,</p>

<p>I am currently deciding on where I will spend the next 4-5 years of my life, and I just wanted some more opinions to shape my final decision. All replies (except disparaging ones XD) appreciated! </p>

<p>I have narrowed my college selection down to Purdue University vs. University of Kansas (KU).</p>

<p>My major is Chem/Pharma/Biomed Engineering</p>

<p>Here are the arguments for both:</p>

<p>Purdue:
Pros: Great Academics, Connections, top-ranked program, guaranteed job placement after graduation, research and internship opportunities, nice-looking campus, (any more that could sway me towards it would be great), curriculum gives me a bunch more preparation in my field than KU's curriculum.
Cons: Outrageous out-of-state tuition, academic programs are apparently REALLY difficult, 5 years of college instead of 4 = higher tuition cost, weather is really cold (and I'm a summer person lol), low chances of transfer from KU to Purdue</p>

<p>In-depth:
-I have a drive to be a good engineer, but I also try to be really sociable. I don't want to go insane due to too much studying, and that's a factor playing into my concerns with Purdue. To all you current-Purdue engineering students, do you find it hard to maintain a balance between your social life and your academics?
-In terms of academics, while I am a good student, I am never at the top of the top; I'm in the upper ranks, but not that high. Current students, how do you find your success rate to be, as in like do you feel like I would be able to succeed academically at Purdue based on the above information?
-Is the high tuition cost really worth it?