Purdue vs. UIUC Computer Engineering

<p>I'm an international student currently attending high school in Kentucky. I just got in both schools and intended to major in computer engineering. Any comments (regarding to these two schools' research opportunities, co-op opportunities, job placements, campus atmosphere, dorms, or just anything) are appreciated! Which school has a better program in computer engineering? Also, which school has a more friendly atmosphere for international students?</p>

<p>Any comments are appreciated! Thanks in advance!</p>

<p>P.S. It's very likely that I will get a full ride at University of Kentucky. Should I consider that as an option, or is paying 40k a year at Purdue/UIUC worth the money? It's a big amount for my family, and we might even need to borrow some.</p>

<p>full-ride!</p>

<p>Is it true that if a computer engineering major goes on to grad school, he or she will get paid by the school? (because technically he or she is working for the professors…)</p>

<p>Taking the potential full ride aside, how would you compare the computer engineering program between UIUC and Purdue?</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>uiuc is way better than purdue, which is definitely better than uk. but i wouldn’t go into debt for a salable degree like that. clearly, you ought to do very well at uk for grad school. </p>

<p>in grad school, most schools will pay you tuition and a stipend for phd, not for ms.</p>

<p>Go for UK . You can always get into good grad colleges. But You need to perform extremely well in UK. </p>

<p>Good Luck !</p>

<p>@tarun2012, thank you for the reply! What do you mean by “perform extremely well in UK”? Like having a perfect GPA, awesome rec, good research opportunities? What factors determine a person’s chance to get into a top-tier grad school? </p>

<p>P.S. A few days ago I was noticed that I indeed got this UK’s full ride, which covers absolutely everything and gives me even extra cash…</p>