Purdue vs. UIUC vs. UC Irvine for Mechanical Engineering

My son got admitted to Purdue, UIUC, and UC Irvine for Mechanical Engineering.
Many people around me recommended UIUC over the other two, but their arguments are not super-convincing to me.

These are the key factors currently in my equation.
Cost: I’m a California resident so UCI is the cheapest (40k), and UIUC the most expensive at 63k.
Ranking, Different rankings tell conflicting stories about which engineering program is superior, Purdue or UIUC.
Proximity: UCI is only 30 minute drive from home, whereas UIUC and Purdue will take all day to travel to. Since my son wants to find a job near home after graduation, I suspect UCI might have an edge from that perspective.

BTW, my son is currently waitlisted at UCLA which is his first choice school. He likes UCLA because it has higher engineering ranking (than UCI), closer to urban area(than Purdue/UIUC), and known to be harder to get into. (than UCI/Purdue/UIUC). His primary interest is building robots using AI and bionics, but I suppose it can change down the road.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge and opinions in advance.

Rankings notwithstanding, these are all well-regarded, well-resourced, ABET-accredited programs. If your son is not particularly drawn to the locale and campus life of UIUC or Purdue, I wouldn’t spend significantly more money and deal with the travel, to choose one of them over UCI. You’ve been paying for UCI with your taxes all these years, and plenty of kids from elsewhere are seriously considering paying 70K/year to attend a UC! He’ll get an excellent engineering education, and there is plenty of robotics/bionics research going on at UCI. And as you say, it’ll be easier to connect with west coast job and internship opportunities from UCI.