Pure Math Major Extracurriculars

Hi, I’m a HS freshman looking to go into pure math as an undergrad.

Currently, I have a 4.0 GPA, 1570 SAT, and USAJMO qual.
I want extracurriculars that can make me competitive for universities such as MIT, Caltech, CMU, HYPS, etc., but I found that it was quite challenging to get EC’s, especially research.

1. Is it possible to do any meaningful research under a prof. in math as a HS student? If yes, what fields would I have the best chance in actually understanding the work?

2. Aside from research, what other things can I do? I applied to Ross and PROMYS, and I’m waiting on the results. The easiest thing that I thought of would be just stacking DE courses and going to camps, but I feel like I wouldn’t have a singular strong hook.

Thank you in advance!

You have a 1570 as a freshman? Wow

Get a job, join a sports team, walk dogs, volunteer at a food bank.

Make yourself a complete person.

Some folks on here post this blog - not sure if this is the latest but it serves the point - you don’t need all the math stuff. You need the stuff that you’re passionate about.

Good luck.

Applying Sideways | MIT Admissions

What if OP is passionate about math?

3 Likes

@hebegebe might have advice for OP.

Agreed. For some people a specific area of academic interest or personal cause can be narrow and consequently focusing entirely on that area can be extremely rewarding. I think we should encourage students to pursue what interests them not impose a value system of “normalcy”.

OP I admire your determination to find outlets for your passion for math. Good luck on your personal journey.

3 Likes

What level of math are you completing this year? It’s impossible to gauge your ability to understand research in this area without knowing this.

2 Likes

The vast majority of students applying to the vast majority of colleges do NOT have a hook.

1 Like