Question about direct entry programs/certain colleges

<p>I'm a current highschool junior. My dream is to become a certified nurse-midwife but in order to do that I'll have to get my BSN. I'm a volunteer EMT-B and I love the medical field. I have no doubts whatsoever that this is my calling.
I've seen the posts here about direct entry nursing programs. I am confused about them though. When you apply to the school, you would check off a box that says 'I want to major in nursing' and then they would put you directly in the program so you wouldn't have to delcare a major later on? Can someone explain direct entry nursing programs to me in simple english, lol?
I live in New England and I would go to all of New England, (ME, NH, VT, MA, CT, RI) and New York and Pennsylvania but I don't really want to go further than that. I have a 3.7 GPA but I'm hoping to bring it up (and I was hoping my background as a certified EMT might help me get in!). I also don't want to go to a total party school, I
m kind of a prude, lol and I don't drink or smoke.</p>

<p>So basically, can someone explain what a direct entry nursing program really entails? These are the colleges I'm considering applying to:
UMass Amherst
Villanova
Fairfield U
U of Vermont
Boston College
Endicott College</p>

<p>If anyone knows anything about the nursing programs at those colleges I'd love to hear about it and if you think I could get in or if I would like them! And of course, more suggestions would be very appreciated!</p>

<p>Direct entry is simply this: you apply as a freshman to a nursing program and are accepted as a prospective freshman to all 4 years of that program.</p>

<p>Non-direct entry is this: you apply to a college or university as a freshman as a nursing major. You take the required classes but then have to REAPPLY during your sophomore year to be accepted into the nursing program that begins junior year. It’s just a bit riskier to go this way because of the second reapplication process.</p>