Question for anyone who has experience with the computer science courses

<p>I’m an incoming freshman, looking to maybe take a computer science class next semester, just because I like the subject. I’m majoring in ChemE.
I took AP Computer Science in high school, and I’m pretty sure I passed the AP test. But I wouldn’t say I know a ton about computers. I don’t do any kind of programming outside of what I did in that class. But passing the AP test means that I have credit for CS 150, 160, and 250. However, I don’t think I actually know the stuff covered in 150 or 250, because according to the catalog description, those classes use Python, whereas the AP course uses Java.
So basically my question is: do you think I’d really be ready to jump straight in CS 350? 350 is a Java class, but it also says that it “builds on concepts from CS 150 and 250”. If not, what might be the most appropriate computer science course for me to take?</p>

<p>If you think you’re missing a language, then you may want to take one (maybe not all three) of the classes that AP gave you credit for. Which class initially teaches Python? CS150??</p>

<p>Python is easy to learn if you’ve programmed in Java or C++. I wouldn’t worry about that. CS 150 makes people use vim and the Unix environment, which I doubt you’ve used. I’m under the impression that you should be fine going into CS 350. Although if you could take C++, I would recommend it for the sake of learning another language (that’s also used more often in industry). If you want to learn Python, CS 260 can be an opportunity to make yourself learn it while learning some theoretical ideas about CS beyond programming (the textbook is written for Python programmers, but Professor Brown accepts code written in all kinds of languages).</p>

<p>This thread may help some too, IneedaMascot:</p>