Question from a beginner here

I’m just starting to comb through information here and am wondering:

• My child is a US citizen but studying overseas(International, IB school). For merit aid, is it given automatically to admitted student with good grades, good SAT? Or does it depend on the college? Or do we have to specifically ask for it during application time?
  • We have a home in CA, husband has not been back to US for 2-3 years first due to covid, and now we feel comfortable where we are. Let’s say our child applies outside CA, that will make him an out of state student but NOT international, correct?

Thanks.

Merit awards and rules are school specific. Some have additional essays to be considered, some are automatic, some have earlier deadlines. Your student will need to investigate each school on their list for specifics.

Your student will be considered a domestic applicant but out of state for all public universities.

10 Likes

Also, not all schools offer merit aid. In particular, the so-called “private elites” typically don’t offer any - they only provide need based aid.

7 Likes

You don’t ask for merit. Many provide it automatically. Some have a chart such as below, some just tell you everyone is considered. Others have a special app to consider if you want merit or even more than they give.

You can usually figure out from reading merit aid pages the how and how much. Some include in net price calculators. Don’t forget, you have to look at total cost. Some start with tuition $40k + and some less than $20k. Some give $1000 and others $30k +.

Here’s an example of one that has auto merit. Good luck.

https://afford.ua.edu/scholarships/out-of-state-freshman/

2 Likes

Schools give merit as a tool to entice high stats students to attend. Generally your stats must be way above average for that school in order to get merit, if they offer it at all.

6 Likes