Questioning Leaving Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo?

Hi all:

I am a current freshman at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo and could really use some advice.

I just finished my second quarter at Cal Poly and am still not adjusting well to being here.

To be fair, academically I find this school to be stellar. I have been in some amazing classes with wonderful professors who genuinely care about their students success in their classes. I have also been doing very well in all my classes, which gives me a reason to stay at Cal Poly.

However, it feels like everything unrelated to academics isn’t working for me here. For one thing, I can’t seem to connect with the kind of people I am meeting here. Not to generalize, but there is a strong surf culture here that values the outdoors, and I don’t fit in with that one bit. I appreciate the outdoors and hiking, however that is not the only thing I can picture myself doing for 4 years. The lack of culture and food diversity doesn’t help either. Having come from a big city, moving to SLO felt like moving into a bubble. Additionally, the student body lacks diversity. It feels like the majority of the students are white, middle class, and either come from Southern California or the Bay Area. That being said, I don’t feel like I am learning anything from my fellow peers, as we all have rather similar backgrounds. In fact, I find it very hard to connect with them on an intellectual level, as it seems like a lot of them only find pleasure in talking about their frat party experiences or greek life (which I am not a part of). Another thing I am struggling with is how isolating SLO can be. The access to this city is very limited, and the nearest big city is 3 hours away.