Recent MIT grad wants to help next generation of engineers get into MIT. AMA

I hope anyone reading this in New England area is safe as we hunker down for the bombogenesis this weekend. I am a recent MIT grad who is interested in helping the next generation of engineers get into MIT. AMA.

Why? I graduated from MIT Class of 2019 with degrees in Mechanical Engineering, Design, and Entrepreneurship and am currently working in the product design industry developing consumer products for customers across the globe. When I got into MIT, I also earned over a quarter million dollars in scholarship so I graduated debt-free. As the first from my family to pursue higher education, I had to figure a lot of things out on my own and it was one of the most challenging times of my life. I have some time now thanks to the snow storm so AMA.

6 Likes

Do you have any insights for someone who wishes to be an undergraduate business major? Any ways to stand-out in the application process?

My son just started 9th grade and loves Math (and is good at it). He wants to apply to MIT (his dream school) in a few years.

Besides working hard in school, what are some other things that can help him stand out and win an acceptance into MIT? He’s on the math team at school, but doesn’t do much else.

TIA

1 Like

I hope you made it through the storm without any issues. :crossed_fingers:
Thank you for being willing to help the future engineers out here!

Could you estimate what the highest level of math the MIT students you knew reached in high school? What percentage do you think came in with <Calc AB; Calc AB; Calc BC; MVC; >MVC?

I am seeing many kids, not necessarily MIT bound, reaching MVC in my DC22’s class. This may be a recent phenomenon (or a local one), but I’m specifically wondering if you know of anyone who got in to MIT with AB or below and what level of math you would say the majority of students had reached.

Thanks again!