Record enhancements and path to Medical School

Hello Everyone,

I need your advice on how to get into med school. Here’s a little about me;
I’m a research assistant at a very well known university in Texas. I have a Master’s degree in pharmaceutical science, and I would like to apply to medical school. I have extensive research experience and seven published papers.
My undergraduate GPA is 3.4, and my graduate GPA is 3.7. I struggled during my freshman and sophomore years due to the language barrier. But I learned English within a year, and ever since, my grades have improved tremendously. I have been out of school for almost five years now ( I’m 28 years old ), and I know it’s not going to be easy to go back to school again. I realize that my stats aren’t the best, and I haven’t taken the MCAT yet. I am willing to do whatever it takes to better my chances. I would greatly appreciate any advice.

I did my research, and I came across SMP and post-bac programs. I think these two options are the way to go in my case?. What do you think?

@WayOutWestMom can you explain the difference between these options to this poster?

@texaspg can you discuss medical schools in Texas?

Some basics first–

What is your science GPA. Only biology, chemistry, physics and mathematics classes. sGPA does not include graduate coursework.

You’ll need a sGPA of 3.4+ for osteopathic medical schools and sGPA 3.65+ for allopathic medical schools.

BTW, nearly all med schools require that you have UL science coursework taken within 5 years of application as proof that you can perform at the high academic level required for med school success.

A post bacc can be either a formal program or done independently. The purpose of a post-bacc is to raise one's sGPA by taking upper level undergrad science classes. A formal program is structured, full time and offers things like MCAT prep, research & volunteering opportunities and application advising. Formal post baccs can be expensive.