Registering for classes at Purdue (Update)

Good Morning Everyone,

I am here to give you an update on my registration at Purdue. I had to take the ALEKS math placement assessment, I did not score so well the first time so I studied for 4 days straight and raised my score significantly. I used the “scheduling assistant” to update my courses for the spring 2022 semester. Here it is…

Spring 2022 (13 total credit hours)

1. EDPS 105- Academic & Career Planning
  2. CHM 115- General Chemistry
  3. MA 160- Applied Calculus 1
  4. SCLA 101- Transformative Texts/ Critical Thinking and Communication 1: Antiquity To Modernity

Summer 2022 (8 week module & 12 credit hours)

1. MA 161- Plane Analytic & Geometry/ Calculus 1
  2. COM 114- Fundamentals of Communication
  3. ENGL 106- First Year Composition

Fall 2022 (14 credit hours)

1. MA 165- Analytic Geometry & Calculus 1
  2. ENGR 131- Transforming Ideas to Innovation 1
  3. CHM 116- General Chemistry 2
  4. PHYS 172- Modern Mechanics

Spring 2023-Spring 2026

Any required general elective or classes related to the Purdue West Lafayette chemical engineering degree requirements list.

Additional Comments

I need a 3.3 GPA or higher to switch into chemical engineering and I cannot be on academic probation. If you are wondering what my ALEKS score is now, its an 80. You are more than welcome to add any questions, comments, criticism, etc.

Looks good!

My only concern is for your summer. Calc is really fast paced and 8 weeks is a very compressed time horizon. Three courses in 8 weeks is a lot!

Go to all the review sessions and office hours, and don’t miss recitation!

1 Like

Concur. Consider taking 2 classes, at most, over the 8 weeks of summer; you will be stretched trying to attend classes and do all the homework that is assigned in a semester that is half the length of what you have in the Fall or Spring semesters.

2 Likes