Rising Junior interested in Rice

My daughter is going into her junior year.
Current stats:
SAT: 1550 (800 M 750 R) Got that score early her sophomore year.
Rank: currently 1 out of almost 800. Upper middle public school in Texas.
Her EC’s are her weak point I think. I’m a full time single dad. I’m also an airline pilot and fly in the reserves. I’m about to deploy with my military unit. So my schedule has made it hard to get my kids involved in too many things. Her grandparents help when I’m gone.

She’s in a few clubs and tutors in math and
Spanish. She’s fluent in Spanish.
Robotics Club
Currently studying abroad in Spain.
Did service projects outside the States.

Wants to do engineering.

Any advice on how to attack the next 2 years welcome.

Sure - ECs don’t have to be out of this world but they should be something that she can get tenure and quantifiable items.

It may be a part time job (that doesn’t need a car), it may be walking dogs at the shelter…or actually doing things in the club that can be described and quantified. Or taking a leadership role and she can say - I recruited 20 new members, etc.

So tutoring and robotics are great - and studying abroad is great.

It can be but needn’t be anything STEM related.

Rice or any other school - will be lucky to have her.

3 Likes

Well, the good news is that she is a lock for UT-Austin, and I suspect she will have no problem being admitted to engineering. You are very fortunate to have that as a safety.

Her ECs will be evaluated in context of you being a single parent who travels all the time. Her essays should mention that, perhaps in the context of how she learned how to do things on her own.