RLC Residential Leadership Community

<p>Hey Guys,</p>

<p>I am thinking about applying to the Residential Leadership Community. What are the people like in the program? Type A personalities or less-social people? I never know what to think about these communities, but the dorms and opportunities seem appealing </p>

<p>Thanks and please tell your connection to Tech. :)</p>

<p>I graduated a year ago. I didn’t do RLC but I knew a lot of people in it. There’s a minor time investment, but I’d say it’s worth it to get into the good dorms. As far as the people go I guess it’d trend toward type A personalities, but I didn’t notice a huge difference between the people I knew in RLC and the rest of the student body.</p>

<p>Yeah, RLC is a really chill environment with alot of perks. But honestly, with all the communities I’ve been to (which is all of them except for Honors affiliated ones) everyone seems all the same. My friend lived in one last year (not on purpose, it was cuz of his roommate) and his hall seemed like a typical freshman guys hall. Haha.</p>

<p>RLC isn’t easy to get into though because alot of students who were really active in high school are competing for it.</p>

<p>I consider myself to have a Type A personality, but I am not uptight about things. I agree about the dorms, they seem great :). </p>

<p>financiallylost: Haha I definitely want the typical freshmen dorm. It’s a once in a lifetime thing. I figured that it would be hard to get into, because the overall competitiveness of VT.</p>

<p>Let me asking something else, do the people in the themed housing only hang within their community like a click? Or is it harder to meet people outside of the community? I go to a small high school, and I want to have a large variety of friends at VT. I don’t want to be limited by where I live. Any tips?</p>