Roommate Finder

<p>D got an email to her Crimson account that the Roommate Finder is now open, so check your email and sign up :)</p>

<p>I hate that all the Housing things start so early everywhere. If you are waiting on scholarships it is really stressful to know that you will be coming into housing late in the game. Does anyone know how many Honors students do NOT get Honors housing? I would hate to be too late to get it.</p>

<p>D also received Roommate Finder email.</p>

<p>what scholarships are you waiting for. if it is the guaranteed scholarships, then you don’t really need to wait. if it is others, you just have to decide whether it is important enough to you to put down the deposit or not.</p>

<p>or are you waiting for scholarship offers from other schools?</p>

<p>@mavs2011 - I’m not an expert by any means, but I recall reading threads earlier this year that it was a little hectic at first, but in the end students seemed to all get housing that they were happy with, and many of these students didn’t deposit until after January.</p>

<p>Mavs2011: A lot depends on what current freshmen/upperclassmen do. Right now, they are filling out applications for their 2011-12 housing. This will tell the residential life personnel how many current freshmen and upperclassmen desire to live on campus next year. They need to have that application in by Feb. 1, 2011.</p>

<p>I hate to base anything on last year’s experience with housing because it seems like each year is getting more difficult.</p>

<p>Last year’s experience was more difficult than the prior year, so it looks like each year is going to be more difficult.</p>

<p>In the end, Bama was able to relieve the pressure for housing last year by delaying remodeling for The Highlands and (I think) by purchasing The Bluff (which is super nice, but not available to freshmen).</p>

<p>Some kids find it easier to find roommates by using the application of Facebook.</p>