RSI/SSP/BU RISE/Simons/HSHSP 2022 Chance Me

Hi guys!

I’m new to CC and am an anxious junior applying to a bunch of STEM summer programs. I know most of these programs are crapshoots but I’m hoping the CC gods will shine upon me and someone (any alumni hanging around? :eyes:) will take a look at this post and give me an honest opinion of where I stand and how I might be able to boost my app in the next month.

Also if there aren’t any threads on this already feel free to add onto this and make it a chance-me thread :))

About me

• Asian female
  • Pacific NW
  • Well funded public HS w/ lots of APs
  • Interested in CS/bio intersection, so bioinformatics, genetics, computer vision (diagnostics), systems modelling, etc.

Stats

• 1580 SAT (780 EBRW 800 Math taken August 2021)
  • PSAT this fall sucked so I’m not submitting it unless required
  • 4.0/4.0 UW, 4.6/4.0 W
  • My school doesn’t do class rank

Coursework

• AP Calc AB (5, 9th), AP Spanish Lang (5, 9th), AP Chem (5, 9th), AP Stats (5, 10th), AP Bio (5, 10th), AP CS A (5, 10th), AP Calc BC (5, 10th), Organic Chemistry (taught by HS teacher)
  • This year: AP US, AP Lang, AP Physics 2, Human Phys, Dual credit 300-level Spanish class, Multivariable calc

Awards

• FIRST Robotics Competition Dean’s List Finalist (first from my team to compete @ Worlds)
  • Won state in a speech and debate event
  • USNCO Semifinalist (by this I mean National Exam qualifier… I feel like I’ve seen “semifinalist” mean different things so this is my understanding of it)
  • PVSA Gold Award

Extracurriculars
Robotics
Sub-team lead, developed and lead new online outreach program and fundraiser, use OpenCV for autonomous movement

Independent Study
Putting it here because it’s the closest to research I’m doing. Doing some stuff in genetics avoiding the wet lab (since I’m pretty sure I’m not old enough to work in one as of now lol).