School of Neuroscience

Has anyone heard anything about their new school of neuroscience? I’m interested in it, but I don’t know too much about it.

it’s new and the only one of its type. you really need to look into it specifically as most people won’t know much about it yet.

I’m currently a sophomore in the program! What would you like to know?

@HHSHawk omg that’s great! I have a couple of questions, not sure if you’ll know the answer to all of them. First, I applied to VT (and accepted) for their College of Science, but as a major in neuroscience. Do you know if I’ll be able to switch to the school of neuroscience as soon as I start school? Also, how’s the rigor of the classes? Are there a lot of good undergrad research opportunities, as well as work study (paid research)? Thanks so much, hope you can answer at least some of these!

also @HHSHawk how hard is it to get into the honors housing? I have a 3.99w and 35act with a bunch of ECs

Sorry for the delay! And I can totally help with all of these actually.

1. As a neuroscience major, you are automatically in the college of Neuroscience! They now have different submajors though, so youll have to pick one (clinical neuroscience, experimental neuroscience, computational neuroscience, etc).
  2. To be percectly honest, the classes are somewhat rough. I did well in my high school science classes, but I never really learned how to study effectively, so thats probably why! If you devote the time and energy into the work though, youll be fine!