School Orchestra count as extracurricular?

<p>Does my school sponsored Orchestra count as an extracurricular? Even though we have classes everyday we still go “out of school” to performances, rehearsals, and concerts? </p>

<p>I’ve been playing violin for approximately 8 years…</p>

<p>I would say yes!</p>

<p>are you sure? because I don’t have much extracurriculars so I might put this down.</p>

<p>I think it is pretty clear cut. Why do you think it should not be?</p>

<p>Is it on your report card?</p>

<p>sure put it down, but it won’t help much bcos UC knows that a VAPA course is associated with it. Now, if you were first Chair, a leader…</p>

<p>If it is a school course but not a-g, you should put it in non a-g section. So that you can add more stuff in EC.</p>

<p>No the thing is that it is part of the A-G requirements. But like I said we go out to many concerts/Disneyland and perform. Would that be an extracurricular. Have been playing since I was 5th Grade if that matters at all?</p>

<p>If it is an a-g, you already listed on your academic history. What you can do is to list “Took Violin Lesson and practiced violin x hours a week since 5th grade” in your EC.</p>

<p>

</p>

<p>seconded it… it makes more sense…you dont want to restate things on the application so twist the words around, but give it a similar meaning, like the above poster did</p>

<p>what if did not have lessons but just practiced by myself. The thing is I see others put marching band as an extracurricular and wonder if i should put orchestra?</p>

<p>marching band is not an ec, it is a non a-g course, it is on your school report card.
I myself in marching bad, performed in various parades, and spent a lot of time… but it is a non a-g.</p>

<p>if you see someone put marching band as an ec, it is worng.</p>

<p>so should i put orchestra as an extracurricular or not? im confused?</p>