Selecting dining plan

<p>Will my son need to select his dining plan at the time of room selection? Also, I wondered what day classes start and when students can move in. We are OOS and I am a teacher so I am hoping to get him all set before I have to go back to work. Thanks for any info!</p>

<p>3kidsinHS: no you don’t have to worry about the meal plan yet. Freshmen don’t have a lot of options anyway:
Bama Unlimited - $1,757 per semester*
Unlimited meals; please note that this does not include the required $300 Dining Dollars.</p>

<p>Bama Gold - $1,579 per semester*
220 meals per semester; please note that this does not include the required $300 Dining Dollars.</p>

<p>Bama Silver - $1,272 per semester*
160 meals per semester; please note that this does not include the required $300 Dining Dollars.</p>

<p>Classes don’t begin until August 24th (late this year!,) but freshmen move in earlier than that so they can participate in WOW: Week of Welcome. The 2011 schedule isn’t up yet but you can see the 2010 info at: [Student</a> Affairs | Week of Welcome](<a href=“Weeks of Welcome - University Programs”>Weeks of Welcome - University Programs)</p>

<p>I think things are about a week later this year as Alabama/Outdoor Action is scheduled for August 14th-19th (if your child is OOS & Honors I strongly suggest he consider one of those programs.) Regular freshman move in would be Friday August 19th & Saturday August 20th then with WOW to be the 19th-25th.</p>

<p>^ wow! classes start late - that’s a good thing for us :slight_smile:
anyone remember when we (upperclassmen) choose dining plans?</p>

<p>I think this has been answered before, but, if freshmen have enough AP/dual enrollment credits to be classified as a sophomore by second semester will they allow you to sign up for a lesser plan than the silver that semester?</p>

<p>no. they seem to have closed that loophole.</p>