Several years post-grad Med School

Hello all,

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about taking the steps to build a solid medical school application. I’m several years post-undergrad (graduated in 2017) and have spent some time working but I want to make a change and apply for medical school as I had originally planned before. I graduated with a decent GPA (3.2) with a degree in kinesiology. I have taken the majority of the pre-reqs but failed organic chemistry 2, so that’s an obvious retake. I can go through my transcript and get the grades from the other classes but some are average and the rest are solid. Being so far out, should I just say screw it and retake most of not all of the pre-reqs through some kind of post-bacc program? I guess my biggest, general question is where should the majority of my focus be if this is a path I decide to take?

My understanding of it just at a glance is retake any pre-req classes I didn’t get an A in, take the MCAT and then go from there. Are there any other complications I should be aware of, especially not having applied directly after undergrad? Thanks for everyone’s time.

1 Like

Well there was a poster who b4 had a similar story. In the end, if you want something in life, you need to go for it. You can’t get what you don’t seek.

But failing a pre req will obviously put one on a difficult position. I don’t see not applying out of school hurting.

Changing gears requires a big commitment. If this is what you want and you can afford to take the chance, best of luck.

Even if it doesn’t work out, you’ll know you took your best shot.

1 Like