Should Emory be my top school when it has such a bad reputation?

I am currently a high school senior starting my applications. I want to study biology and pursue research in my later schooling (fellowships). When I tell my friends that I want to go to Emory University, all I hear is about how bad the student body is and how depressing it is academically due to perfectionism. My question is, is this true?

I want to go to a university where there is at least some school spirit (I don’t care that there is no football team or crazy parties), great professors that believe in me, and at least a small academic challenge. (I am Georgia based)

Maybe you hear more because it is local- I have only heard good things about Emory. But definitely be skeptical about anything you hear about any college. I would visit, and talk to current students and make up your own mind.

5 Likes

They may be jealous because with their stats they have no chance of being admitted to Emory.

7 Likes

I graduated from Emory with a degree in biology. It was a fantastic experience. Best time of my life. I made my closest friendships there. Lots of school spirit, even without a football team. Always lots to do on campus or in Atlanta. It also prepared me very well academically. I went on to grad school and I now work in biotech/pharma. My DD applied to Emory last year with perfect grades, high test scores, leadership roles, ECs, etc. and did not get in.

3 Likes

Have you visited? This would be a good way to get a sense if it may be the school for you. I will say my own student didn’t love the vibe at Emory but she was looking for more of a big football school type experience, and the campus over all felt quieter to her than others we visited There are, of course, many, many students who feel differently, and there is no doubt it offers an excellent academic experience.

1 Like