Should I apply as a Freshman or Transfer?

Hello all!

I am a California resident looking to attend a UC in the near future (hopefully UCLA) and I’m a sophomore in high school. By the end of Senior year I’ll have all the credits needed to be considered a junior, from taking classes at my local community college.

I don’t know wether I should apply as a freshman or as a transfer through TAP. Which option would I benefit more in? I heard that transfers don’t get as much scholarships, but my family is doing well financially so it’s not a huge deal… although I prefer having the scholarships to reduce the cost for my parents.

My issue is more on getting accepted to UCLA, I do have backup plans but it’s close to home and their business economics program is amazing. I believe that transfer students have a higher chance but I’m not entirely sure. I am planning on joining my cc’s honors program by the time I turn 16 (over the summer).

Any information, little or great is very much appreciated!

If you take community college courses during High School, you would apply as a Freshman not as a Transfer. UC’s give little to no “scholarships/merit aid”. Most of the FA is need-based so you would be better off applying as a Freshman if costs are not a major issue.

Each school’s website has a Net Price calculator which can give an estimate of your costs.

http://www.financialaid.ucla.edu/Prospective-Student/Net-Price-Calculator

Should I continue to do the classes for IGETC, and transfer pathway? My goal is to obtain my bachelor’s degree in 2 years following my high school diploma, so basically having the credits to be a junior. I’ve gotten a lot of mixed answers, because some people say that UCLA has classes that you are required to only take with them.

Thank you! :slight_smile: