Should I attend the YYGS-Yale Young Global Scholars program?

Hey everyone and as you can tell from the title, I got into the YYGS connect program. The problem was I applied for fun because I did not have PSAT, SAT, or ACT scores and my chances were near zero. I am an international student btw. But, my grades and essays were very good and the teacher recommendations were awesome. I also did not apply for financial aid as well. But I got admitted to the program for my second choice.
I absolutely have no idea what to do. I only applied to sort of understand how the admission process would work. The program is definitely expensive for me (an international student) but, my parents want me to attend the program.
I wanted to know whether attending the program would do any good (apart from experience and learning) to my college applications. I also read that these summer programs give admission to students who have half-decent grades and who are willing to pay a lot of money for 2 weeks. How true would that statement be?
Thanks for your time and have a great day!

1 Like
  1. The YYGS program is a great program- students get a lot out of it. It is more selective than the ‘if you have $$ & credible grades you are in’ programs.
  2. It will not give you an admissions bump to Yale, or any other school.

So: do it if you think that you would get a lot out of the experience.

ps, I don’t love reading that a student applied ‘just for fun’ and oops! just happened to get in. You wrote essays, asked teachers to spend their personal time writing letters of recommendation for you, and asked your parents to pay the application fee, after which the admissions team at Yale spent time reviewing your application (believing it to be serious) and then turned down other students to offer you the place. If it really was just a lark (or to see how admissions would work? really?) that would be extraordinarily poor form.

2 Likes