Should I skip precalc?

I’m a rising sophomore and classes starts in three weeks. I currently asked for Precalc Honors for 10th grade but over summer I’ve been looking at precalc videos online and most of it seems like stuff we learned in alg 2 so it seems like a waste of time to spend a whole school year on the course. I’ve already watched some videos on the basic topics in the class and I’m wondering if I’d still be able to get an A or at the very least a B if I went straight to calculus for sophomore year. Last year I took Alg 2 and got an A both semesters but it was in the low 90s range (I had bad study habits and would usually study for tests during lunch before class). If I spend the rest of the time before school doing online lessons by myself of pre calculus and study properly over the school year, how likely would I get an A? And college application wise, would it be more impressive to get an A in precalc sophomore year or a B in Calc AB during sophomore year?

At most schools Precalc is the crux course. It’s THE one I would not skip.

9 Likes

Pre-Calc is taught a little differently in different sequences – for example, some schools lump trig with Algebra II and sometimes you do more of it in Pre-Calc. A few videos can’t replace the course, and it’s foundational to everything you’ll do after that – don’t skip it.

You are already ahead of the curve in math. Take precalc and get the base of knowledge needed to do your best in calc.

Don’t expect to get a different answer from when you posed the question in February.

2 Likes

The class I took was Alg 2/trig so we spent a while doing basic trigonometry and went over stuff like the unit circle, Pythagorean identities, graphing trig functions, adding and subtracting sin cos and tan functions

You’ll do more advanced trig in pre-calc. Answer remains the same - don’t skip it. You’re already on track to finish Calc BC in senior year, which puts you ahead of the curve.