Should I take AP AB Calculus or IB-SL?

I’m a sophomore, and I have to decide my classes for next year, and I’m pretty sure I’m doing the IB program. I have to decide what level of Calculus I’m taking for next year, and I’m not sure if I should take AB AP Calculus or IB-SL. I know most colleges don’t give credit for SL classes, but I’m afraid that AP AB might be too hard since I haven’t had the best background in math since my Algebra 2 teacher was awful. What I was thinking of doing was taking IB-SL then buying a prep book and teaching myself any information that I didn’t learn over the summer then taking the AP test senior year if I needed to. Also, would I be able to take IB-SL Calculus junior year then IB-HL Further math senior year, and just take the HL test senior year, or would that be too much of a jump?

I also wanted to add that I took Algebtra 2 freshman year, not sophomore. I didn’t want that to be confusing. Not knowing Algebra 2 made Pre-Calc hard this year which made me drop from Honors/IB to advanced (level between honors and regular). I have an A+ in advanced since I caught up on learning the Algebra 2 stuff from last year, so I feel confident in going back up to IB-SL, but I don’t know if I’d be ready to take AP AB if it’s a lot harder than SL.

I think you might be a little confused about how the IB math classes work. There is no class called IB SL Calculus.

A student who is not strong in math should not consider any form of further maths HL. If you are going for an IB Diploma I would recommend taking SL Math junior year, and if you want AP Calculus credit take AB your senior year. This will be the most gentle path.

^ Seconding this: IB Math SL will review some pre-calculus and introduce calculus, and present statistics+ data analysis. it’ll provide you with a strong background for AP calculus AB senior year.
What other classes will you be preparing?