Should I transfer from Georgetown SFS to NYU?

Hey everyone, hope you’re doing well!

I’ve been a student at Georgetown in the SFS for something like 2.5 years by now, and the more time I have spent there both online and in person, the more I realize I dislike it. I don’t generally like the kind people there, I don’t like how isolated the campus is from the rest of DC, I don’t like the lack in variety of disciplines, and I don’t like being away from my home city (NYC). Furthermore, I’ve recently realized that I actually don’t want to go into IR or federal govt, and instead would love to go into urban planning and city-level politics in NYC.
So to that end I applied to be a spring transfer to NYU for their urban design major, and got in. I don’t get financial aid from either school, but going to NYU would technically be cheaper since I could just commute from home. I know doing a junior transfer at this point is a bit of a thing, but the way I have it figured, I can transfer a decent number of credits and would only have to do maybe one or two summer semesters to graduate on time in Spring '24.
It’s a little more complicated too because just when I think I’m at a dead end at Georgetown academically, there is a new opportunity to work with an urban-studies-related program or to intern at a DC planning org, and so on. But it still doesn’t plass the vibe check for me otherwise, and I’m sure there are plenty of urban-planning related opportunies in NYC offered through NYU. So should I transfer? Like I said, I already have an offer waiting for me at NYU. Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Congrats on getting in to NYU! You say you dislike Georgetown and miss NYC, and you’ve given the Hilltop a try - over 2.5 years! Move on! Or is something else besides this new program tugging at you to stay behind?

2 Likes

You wanted to go to NY enough to apply & get in, so what is your doubt?