Social Life & Student Body

<p>Could someone provide me with insight into the main forms of social life at Geneseo (if there are main ones). I have applied for fall '08, and am really considering attending if admitted. I just wanted to know what type of things students did in their free time and also what opportunties the city of Rochester offers.
I know the majority of the student body is from New York, but I was wondering if there is much diversity (racial, socioeconomic) on campus, and if people of different backgrounds and race interacted frequently. Also, sorry it's not really related to my questions above, but what is the weather like throughout the year. Is the majority of both semesters taken over by extreme winters, or is winter there average for new York (lake effect, heavy snow?) Thank you.</p>

<p>Hey looparound- I am a sophomore at Geneseo and I will be the first to admit that I am a bit of a homebody when it comes to going out on the weekends. But that is definitely not to say there isn't stuff to do. Every Friday and Saturday night there is some kind of event going on on campus, usually in the union. Sometimes they're kind of lame, but sometimes they're pretty cool. Like this weekend, they had a giant guitar hero tournament in the union ballroom, and it was projected on to a big screen and everything, so that was a lot of fun. And the grand prize was Rock Band- so it got pretty competitive. Also there's always some video games, and table games like pool and ping pong for free in the union every night. If you're more of a partier, there are open frat parties just about every weekend, or if you're in a club or a team they'll have parties every so often too. People also go to the bars a lot, which is fun if you like dancing and stuff like that. There's also a free bus in to Rochester on the weekends, though as a Long Islander, I've never really been too impressed with that city (I think I'm spoiled by NYC). But there are malls, movie theaters, and coffee