Social Scene

<p>I applied to VT for transfer but I don't know if I will get in. Anyway, a lot of people from my high school are there & I love the football atmosphere... + my 3 best friends, my brother, and a lot of other friends are there...</p>

<p>I don't drink alcohol and I was never really one to party in high school, usually because everyone would hardcore drink there aha. I'm wondering, will I have a hard time fitting in if I don't drink? What is there to do on the weekends? I wouldn't mind going to parties but would other people care if I'm not drinking?</p>

<p>Also, what else do you love about VT?</p>

<p>thanks!</p>

<p>Hey! I go to Tech right now, I'm a freshman. I absolutely LOVE it. For one, like you said, the football atmosphere is so much fun and everyone gets really into it, it's great. We do party pretty hard here at Tech, but people who don't drink have no trouble fitting in at all. I have a couple friends who don't drink and they come to the parties with us and no one bothers them about it because people are super laid back here. No one would judge you at all. There's other stuff to do on the weekends like see a movie and go to the club downtown and stuff like that, but honestly the parties are the most fun part of the weekend even if you're not drinking! A lot of the frat parties have dance floors, so if you're like me and you like dancing, that's always a lot of fun.</p>

<p>Basically there's so much to love about VT. The people are so nice and fun and easy going. Also, it's a really tightly knit campus. I went to a 6-12 high school with only 500 kids, so I was kind of afraid that Tech would be overwhelmingly big. But I don't get that feeling at all now that I'm here, I feel like everyone knows everyone even though there's 26,000 students. And that Hokie Spirit is always going strong, haha! Anyway I hope you do decide to come to Tech if you get in, because it's pretty much the greatest place in the world! :)</p>