Some questions about how the IB is viewed

<p>I'm a full IB student, but I have some questions.</p>

<p>Do colleges care which course you get better in? ie If i get 7s in HL Math, Physics, Chem but then like 6's and maybe a 5 in english, french, etc SL is there a differnce? Do HL courses mean any more in terms of admission?</p>

<p>How do they look at predicted grades?</p>

<p>Do you colleges like to see that you've done the full IB? ie Do they recognize the difficulty/work load and take that into consideration?</p>

<p>Do they care if you take 4 HL, instead of the required 3?</p>

<p>Thanks for any replies :)</p>

<p>Each college may be a bit different, but here in Florida, it comes down to whether you actually got the diploma or not - how you got it(based on how many HL’s versus how many SL’s and extra points from essay), is not really relevant as long as you got the necessary 24 points to earn diploma. I’m not sure how you cannot be “full” IB?? I belive they take the workload into account, but that is usually reflected in your higher, weighted GPA for those classes. If the college application asks you what the highest level of classes were at your HS, and then they ask if you took that track, it is probably important to them. I believe you can still get credit from IB exams, similar to AP, even if you don’t ultimately earn the diploma. The IB diploma can, in some cases, also give you credit for other classes, i.e. at FSU, my son did not have to take a required speech class since he was getting the IB diploma - this type of credit will be unique to each college.</p>

<p>Thanks for the reply! There are quite a few people at my school that are not doing the full IB diploma, and instead are simply taking a few classes to get the IB certificates. There are also people doing half IB and stuff like that. I’m not too sure how it works either.</p>

<p>Hey there!</p>