Some things to consider when thinking about going to cal poly

I am a first year student at cal poly and came directly from highschool in marin county, CA last year. I was lucky enough last year to be able to decide between Cal Poly and UCSC both of which i considered about equally good choices and i eventually chose Cal Poly. my criteria was going to a california public school and being close to the ocean. I also like the idea of being in central california. However I now find Cal Poly rather boring and the only factor that is holding me back from applying for transfer to UCSC is their lack of a graphic design program, of which Cal Poly has a rather good one. If you are struggling with the decision of going to Cal Poly, consider these things.
-there is little diversity. i was used to hearing this but it was rather shocking when i actually got here how little brown and black students there are.

-the city does not have much to offer

-the food is bad

-this is something to consider for all schools but i like to be able to seperate school from other life and this is very hard to do when you live in a dorm room.

-there are alot of cute girls here but not very many interesting people/ it feels like a larger version of highschool.

i could say many more things but i have homework to do

Thanks for summing this up. I have heard the same from many friends who both committed to and who passed on CP. I know a few who have transferred due to boredom and lack of culture and diversity on campus and in town of SLO. But yet, we have all of us here dying for an acceptance. Hehehehe

I can attest, the food is bad on campus and diversity is lacking, not from lack of trying though. That said, your perspective on whether there is stuff to do or not will vary dramatically. Our son found LOTS to do, both in and around slow, and with closeish road trips. He is finishing his MS this year, but he was a busy, happy, boy.