Soooo, Am I screwed?

<p>Okay so heres my predicament. I have a low cumulative GPA ( roughly around a 2.97) Now there is a reason for this, when I was a freshman I played the "badass" card and didn't really care about school, at all. After struggling all year long, I ended up failing a world language class (Latin). My next year I did okay i got a 3.1 but my junior year I had enough of screwing around and I stepped up to the plate, I got a 3.71 my junior year, but it all amounted to around a 2.97 GPA My SAT's are good 1210/1600 but not great, I am thinking about taking the ACT's also. I have a few but solid extra curriculars( P2P - Student Ambassador, Ran a Sports Equiptment Drive, Special Olympics Vol.) I have a GREAT letter of rec from my counselor and I think my essay is good( I worked on it over the summer with 4 teachers) I hope that the solid SAT's and the upward trend of GPA will get me into one of these colleges w/ good rec's and what not. Also, Baseball Player</p>

<p>Senior Year Schedule
AP Stat
AP Politics and Gov.
Physics
Politics and Gov in Lit
Shakespeare
Cullinary Arts
Gym
and International Business.</p>

<p>COLLEGES, </p>

<p>Indiana University
Penn State - UP
University of Maryland - CP
Rutgers University
Virginia Tech
Emory University
Georgetown University
Syracuse University
Carnagie Mellon
University of Pitsburgh
Lehigh University
Villanova University
Cornell University
Northeastern
Michigan State</p>

<p>NOW, I know that some are BIG stretches, esp Georgetown but still...</p>

<p>My Tops are Penn State, Maryland, and Indiana. </p>

<p>So, are these reasonable? because I really am a changed person and just because I was lazy when I was 14, I hope doesn't ruin my chances at a good college.</p>

<p>Oh, and I am Hispanic =)/ ( Last name Rodriguez, lol)</p>

<p>Take the ACT
Retake the SAT I
Take 2 SAT IIs
Work hard to keep your gpa on an upward curve
Don't rely on your "story" to get you admitted
Work hard like everyone else applying</p>